LAVISH LOVE: How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! (I John 3:1 NIV)

ImageI’ve been reading “Tortured for Christ” by Richard Wurmbrand (1909-2001), a minister who endured fourteen years of Communist imprisonment and torture in his homeland of Romania. Today, I’m pondering this quote from his book:

“In a letter smuggled out secretly, the Underground Church said, ‘We don’t pray to be better Christians, but that we may be the only kind of Christians God means us to be: Christlike Christians, that is, Christians who bear willingly the cross for God’s glory.'”

Then Jesus called his disciples and the crowds to come over and listen. “If any of you wants to be my follower,” he told them, “you must put aside your selfish ambition, shoulder your cross, and follow me. If you try to keep your life for yourself, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake and for the sake of the Good News, you will find true life.” Mark 8:34-35 (NLT)

Comments on: "What Kind of Christian Are You?" (2)

  1. Lisa Hess said:

    Thanks Becky. This reminds me of a friend I had when I lived in CA who was from Ukraine when it was a part of the USSR. Her father had been a pastor there and he had been imprisoned more than once and their whole family persecuted because of their faith. She was amazing at sharing the gospel with people – she had this incredible way of finding a nugget of truth in whatever religion, philosophy, background, or bitterness with the church that someone was espousing, agreeing with them, and thereby pulling them into a conversation that ultimately led to the gospel. We were talking about this gift of hers one day. I was going to say that I was afraid to do what she did, because I didn’t want the person I was talking with thinking that I agreed with them. But I only got as far as, “When I’m talking to non-Christians, I’m afraid…” And she put up her finger, nodded, and said, “Yes, that is your problem, but God has not given us a Spirit of fear, Lisa.” She was right, as usual.

    Like

Leave a Reply

