LAVISH LOVE: How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! (I John 3:1 NIV)

New Way to Pray

ImageMy women’s Bible study group has been studying Galatians over the winter and spring months. After reading verses like the following, one woman came to an interesting conclusion, which you can read after you read the scriptures.

“God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, ‘Abba, Father.'” (4:6)

“So I say, live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature.” (5:16)

“The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.” (5:22)

“Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.” (5:25)

“Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. The one who sows to please his sinful nature, from that nature will reap destruction; the one who sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life.” (6:7-8)

My friend’s ah-ha moment? She said she’d been praying wrong. Instead of praying, “Lord, fix me,” she now plans to pray, “Lord, fill me,” because if we’re filled with the Spirit of Jesus, we won’t be controlled by selfish desires (chapters 5 and 6). Instead, we will love and serve others as ourselves (5:13-14) and produce the other-centered fruit of the Spirit (5:22). We will keep in step with the Spirit (5:25) and do good to all people (6:10), boasting only in the Cross of Christ (6:14).

Early in Jesus ministry, John the Baptist said, “He must become greater; I must become less.” Jesus fixed us when he saved us (Galatians 6:15, 2 Corinthians 5:17), but daily we need his filling (Ephesians 5:18). Reminds me of the chorus to the old song titled “Fill My Cup, Lord” by Richard Blanshard.

Fill my cup Lord, I lift it up, Lord!
Come and quench this thirsting of my soul;
Bread of heaven, Feed me till I want no more–
Fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole!

Comments on: "New Way to Pray" (1)

  1. alissarene said:

    I really appreciate this! It aligns with discussions I have been having with others in recent months, with a fresh perspective. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

